top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSuzanne @LeFarm

Southern gardens, wine and other spirits.

Every garden needs a bottle tree.  Don't you agree?

Preferably a "haint blue" bottle tree. 


Apparently, as lore suggests from ancient times, spirits, ghosts, genies, imps and "haints" are attracted to and trapped in bottles in the night air, only to be destroyed by the morning light.  The wind rushing through the bottles makes an eerie sound that slightly resembles cries made by captured spirits. 

{Use your imagination here...!}

Ask any southerner if they have a blue bottle tree in their garden and they will quickly answer with, 

"Absolutely! How else will we keep those nasty things away from the house?"

(Lucky for me, I have six vacancies on my bottle tree.)  

...I do declare,

I'm in the mood for Rieisling!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page